On a Fitness Mission

Fitness is a really big part of my life. I’ve always been a little sporty but was too shy in school to partake in sports. I did do track though – not even being shy could keep me away from the track.

I’ve been training on/off (life – it happens) for the last 2 years. I started training regularly (4/5 times a week, twice a day) in 2011 during my 12 week USN challenge. I was hooked from then on and have been training consistently at least 2/3 times a week ever since. Of course, life happens: I get sick, take breaks, change jobs, so there have been a few breaks in between. But nothing longer than a month at a time at most.

1ab8b-392719_2385026396055_1562616562_32284779_1565066509_n

I started my USN challenge in August 2011 – results, they’re everything.

I was going through a bit of a rough time from March this year until about end of June and slacked really badly on eating healthily and training. So I’ve picked up a few kgs, but I’m happy to say that I am completely back into routine.

I have a training partner and we train together 3/4 times a week, but I also love to train alone as I get to do exercises a little out of my partner’s comfort zone. So whenever I get the chance to train alone, I do.

I had such a rad session last night. I really love Plyometrics and HIIT (High Intensity Interval Training) so that’s what I do most when I train alone – Plyo and HIIT are great for increasing your fitness level and for toning/burning fat/calories in a short period of time. 20 minutes of Plyo or HIIT burns the same amount of fat as runing for an hour would, if you do it right, of course.

Here’s what I planned on doing:

IMG_5009[1]

And here’s what I did:

IMG_5032[1]

IMG_5033[1]

I was so tired after the 60 box jumps that i only managed about 5 minutes of skipping. I also didn’t do KB swings.

I started the workout at 5:33 pm and ended at 6:48

The times displayed next to the exercises are the times I was done with the particular exercise.

I’ve also started doing yoga & pilates in the mornings – this handstand, soon!

tumblr_mal7h8Zvb71qk8j30o1_500

I’m Β working really hard to try get my body fat down to at least 15%, so let’s see how it goes.

x

