Zach Sobiech and Life

Zach Sobiech – this name will never be forgotten in  my mind. Everything I’ve been going through is nothing. It’s inferior. It’s worthless. A waste of time. This kid has opened my eyes.

At the age of 14, Zach found out he had a rare form of terminal cancer. So he became a rock star, and millions of people got to see his music before he passed away on May 20, 2013.

This story has touched me deeply: not only does the fact that he died of cancer hit home, but seeing what he went through, but still smiling and, more importantly, making people smile, all the way to the end, really touches me as that is all I really want in life. To make people happy, but to be happy as well.

This video changes my perspective on how I deal with things and of life in general. It has reinstated in me that nothing is ever as bad as you think it is. Not even death. So worrying about money, jobs, clothes, fame – whatever – is truly useless and a waste of your valuable time – time that could have been used to, if not change the world, at least make someone smile, or focus on what lies ahead, but not forgetting to live as if you’ll die tomorrow. To live in the moment. Live for now.

It is about doing what makes you happy, but also what makes others happy. I’m not saying you should be a people’s pleaser, I’m just saying to not live within yourself; to not focus your entire life/universe/world around you and problems like money, fame, clothes, your house, your job, but to focus on everything and everyone around you. Break free from a clouded perspective and teach yourself to focus on the important things. Change your perspective/attitude, and you will change your life, and that of others.

Please, please take 23 minutes from your busy life to watch this video. I am certain it will affect/inspire you too.

xx

